top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJuliet Kearsey

The importance of travel in design

I am sat writing this blog post from a cosy corner of a sofa in a trendy hostel in the centre of Rotterdam, having recently arrived to live and study for 6 months at Willem De Kooning Academy. And I thought now would be the perfect time to talk about the vital role that travel plays in design and the artistic world in general.

As a fledgling traveller, I cannot claim yet to be a ‘woman of the world’, but I feel that I have travelled enough to know how beneficial travelling to different countries and cities is, to the design process. One can learn about the cultural history and atmosphere from behind a screen but to truly understand the depth behind Torja death ceremonies in Indonesia or Dutch circle sitting, you have to immerse yourself.



This immersive approach has proven to be the making of many influential designers in a variety of fields. The purpose of all this travel is as much about learning from peers as it is about immersing yourself. The BEST way to solve ‘designers block’ is to have a conversation. I have already learnt so much since my arrive in The Netherlands and I am excited to begin my studies and work with people who I may not have encountered in my home country of England.

Back home, studying at Birmingham City University, by no fault of our own, we fall into the same steps of design as those being taught with us. But by travelling and visiting places such as WDKA, you are able to enter this great melting pot of ideas and creativity. Not one single person has the same design method or style and getting to share ideas with other students is a great source of knowledge and inspiration.

So to anyone reading this who is thinking of the possibility of travelling for their studies or just to absorb some culture, in the words of Nike… just do it!!

I will be posting regular updates on my adventures and studies in Rotterdam here so keep an eye out!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page